Villa Brahms

Villa Brahms:
A Representative Home for Brahms

Villa Brahms is located just a few minutes by foot from Lübeck’s Burgtor (near Travemünder Allee). The country home, built around 1800 by important architect Christian Frederik Hansen, is the former home of Musikhochschule Lübeck. Once the summer home of a Lübeck merchant, it is one of the most outstanding examples of northern German-Danish classicism.

After a fire in September 1998, Villa Brahms was restored as a heritage site and reopened in the summer of 2002. With its historical furnishings, it reflects the posh style of living during the early 19th century. In 1886, the home was purchased by Senator Johann Hermann Eschenburg, after whom the house and surrounding park are named today.

The stylish hall serves as an appropriate setting for concerts, subject evenings, lectures, and presentations. The historic Gartensaal is used as a museum featuring temporary exhibitions on the life and work of Johannes Brahms.

Through the close links between the Brahms-Institut and Musikhochschule Lübeck located in the same building, the fruitful exchange between music research and musical practice has further intensified. The dialogue between research and practice is an important characteristic of the institution.

Die Villa Brahms

Die Villa Brahms –
Repräsentatives Domizil für Brahms

Die Villa Brahms liegt nur wenige Gehminuten vor dem Burgtor Lübecks (Nähe Travemünder Allee). Das von dem bedeutenden Architekten Christian Frederik Hansen um 1800 erbaute Landhaus ist der einstige Stammsitz der Musikhochschule Lübeck. Das ehemalige Sommerhaus eines Lübecker Kaufmanns gehört zu den herausragenden Beispielen des norddeutsch-dänischen Klassizismus.

Die Villa Brahms wurde nach einem Brand im September 1998 denkmalgerecht saniert und im Sommer 2002 wiedereröffnet. Mit seiner historischen Ausstattung spiegelt es die herrschaftliche Wohn- und Lebensform des frühen 19. Jahrhunderts wider. 1886 wurde die Villa von Senator Johann Hermann Eschenburg erworben, der für den Park bis heute namensgebend ist.

Der stilvolle Festsaal bietet den Rahmen für Konzerte, Themenabende, Vorträge und Präsentationen. Der ebenfalls historische Gartensaal der Villa wird als Museumsraum genutzt, der Leben und Werk von Johannes Brahms in wechselnden Ausstellungen anschaulich werden lässt.

Durch die enge Verbindung von Brahms-Institut und Musikhochschule unter einem Dach hat sich der fruchtbare Austausch von Musikforschung und Musikausübung weiter intensiviert. Der Dialog von Forschung und Praxis ist das besondere Merkmal dieses Hauses.