Brahms Internationally

The founding of the Brahms-Institut in 1991 bundled German Brahms research in the northern part of the country. With the Neue Brahms-Gesamtausgabe in Kiel and the Brahms-Institut in Lübeck, two leading research institutes dedicated to Brahms are both located in Schleswig-Holstein. A cooperation contract insures the close collaboration of the two institutions. The head of the Brahms-Institut, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sandberger, is a member of the board of directors at Johannes-Brahms-Gesamtausgabe and vice-chairman of the Brahms-Gesellschaft Schleswig-Holstein.

The Brahms-Institut attracts prominent musicologists, musicians, and many students to Lübeck to work with the unique source material at the institute. Requests also come from exhibition organizers, publishers, radio stations, and the music industry. Performers, in particular those teaching at MHL, profit from our holdings. MHL’s Brahms-Festival [Link], founded at the same time Brahms-Institut, impressively demonstrates the close cooperation of music research and performance.

Furthermore, the Brahms-Institut also maintains contact with research institutions in Germany and around the world, for example Vienna’s Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, Robert-Schumann-Haus Zwickau, and the Robert-Schumann-Forschungsstelle Düsseldorf, to various Swiss institutions in Zurich, Bern, and Lugano, to Brahms research societies in London and various Brahms societies in Germany, Austria, the U.S., and Japan.

Brahms international

Die Gründung des Brahms-Instituts 1991 konzentrierte die Kräfte der deutschen Brahms-Forschung im Norden der Bundesrepublik. Mit der Wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsstelle der Neuen Brahms-Gesamtausgabe in Kiel und dem Brahms-Institut in Lübeck sind zwei führende Forschungsinstitute im Land Schleswig-Holstein tätig. Ein Kooperationsvertrag regelt die enge Zusammenarbeit der beiden Institutionen. Der Leiter des Brahms-Instituts, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sandberger, ist Vorstandsmitglied der Johannes-Brahms-Gesamtausgabe und stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender der Brahms-Gesellschaft Schleswig-Holstein.

Das Brahms-Institut zieht renommierte Musikwissenschaftler, Musiker und zahlreiche Studierende nach Lübeck, die mit dem einzigartigen Quellenmaterial des Instituts arbeiten. Anfragen kommen zudem von Ausstellungsmachern, Verlagen, Rundfunkanstalten und aus der Musikindustrie. Auch die musikalische Praxis, speziell die Dozenten und Studierenden an der MHL, profitieren von den Beständen. Das zeitgleich mit dem Brahms-Institut gegründete Brahms-Festival [link] der Musikhochschule ist alljährlich ein eindrucksvoller Beweis für die enge Kooperation von Musikforschung und Musikausübung.

Überdies pflegt das Institut vielfältige Kontakte zu Forschungsinstitutionen des In- und Auslandes, so zu der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde Wien, dem Robert-Schumann-Haus Zwickau und der Robert-Schumann-Forschungsstelle Düsseldorf, zu verschiedenen Schweizer Institutionen in Zürich, Bern und Lugano, zur Brahms-Forschung in London sowie zu den verschiedenen Brahms-Gesellschaften in Deutschland, Österreich, den USA und Japan.