Julius Stockhausen / Emanuel Wirth 

In 2011, the Brahms-Institut received a bequest from the estate of Renate Wirth. Both her grandfathers were renowned musicians from Brahms’ circle of friends: Emanuel Wirth, the violist in the famous Joachim Quartet as of 1877, and the singer Julius Stockhausen.

Both estates are of great importance in terms of music history. Especially valuable for research are the personal musical libraries of both musicians, which include many first or early editions. Revealing here are numerous working copies that include many markings, documenting the musical practice of the period. The estates also include private photo albums with many previously unknown photographs of famous composers and interpreters, including Joseph Joachim, Franz Liszt, Richard Wagner, Theodor Kirchner, Clara Schumann, Hans von Bülow, and Gioacchino Rossini.

Julius Stockhausen and Emanuel Wirth maintained contact with many artists—as did Renate Wirth herself—so that the estate also contains many handwritten letters, for example from Max Kalbeck, Carl Reinecke, Kurt Thomas, Carl Orff, Max Friedlaender, Hugo Riemann, or Julius Röntgen. Insights into the lifeworld and musical culture of the 19th and early 20th centuries can be read from the handwritten repertoire lists of the Joachim Quartet, the most important quartet during the Brahms period, and a collection of concert programs.

Guest books, poetry albums, and other family documents reflect the variety of the estate. An especially lovely item that has now found its place at the Brahms-Institut is Stockhausen’s ivory baton, which the artist received from the women of Hamburg’s Sing-Akademie when he served as a conductor there, a position that Brahms himself entertained.

In early October 2014, Sarah Hodgson began doing research using the material.

 

gefördert durch:

Julius Stockhausen / Emanuel Wirth 

2011 erhielt das Brahms-Institut den Nachlass von Renate Wirth. Ihre beiden Großväter waren renommierte Musiker und gehörten zum Freundeskreis von Johannes Brahms: der seit 1877 als Bratscher im berühmten Joachim-Quartett spielende Emanuel Wirth und der Sänger Julius Stockhausen.

Beide Teilnachlässe sind von außergewöhnlicher musikhistorischer Bedeutung. Für die Forschung von besonderem Wert sind die erhaltenen persönlichen Notenbibliotheken der beiden Musiker – darunter viele Erst- und Frühdrucke. Aufschlussreich sind zahlreiche Arbeitsexemplare, die mit reichen Anmerkungen versehen sind und die Musizierpraxis der Zeit dokumentieren. Von ikonographischem Wert sind die privaten Fotoalben mit einer Vielzahl bisher unbekannter Fotografien berühmter Komponisten und Interpreten, darunter Joseph Joachim, Franz Liszt, Richard Wagner, Theodor Kirchner, Clara Schumann, Hans von Bülow, Gioacchino Rossini u. a..

Julius Stockhausen und Emanuel Wirth standen – wie später auch Renate Wirth – mit vielen Künstlerpersönlichkeiten in Kontakt, sodass sich in den Nachlässen zugleich viele handschriftliche Briefe erhalten haben. So finden sich Dokumente u. a. von Max Kalbeck, Carl Reinecke, Kurt Thomas, Carl Orff, Max Friedlaender, Hugo Riemann, Julius Röntgen. Einblicke in die Lebenswelt und Musikkultur des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts lassen sich auch aus den handschriftlichen Repertoirelisten des Joachim-Quartetts, dem wohl wichtigsten Quartett der Brahms-Zeit, und einer Sammlung von Konzert-Programmen gewinnen.

Gästebücher, Poesiealben und andere Familiendokumente spiegeln die Vielfalt des Nachlasses. Ein besonders schönes Stück, das nun seinen Platz im Brahms-Institut gefunden hat, ist Stockhausens elfenbeinener Taktstock, den der Dirigent 1864 zum Dank von den Damen der Hamburger Sing-Akademie erhalten hatte – eine Stelle übrigens, die Brahms selbst gerne bekleidet hätte.

Anfang Oktober 2014 wurde von Sarah Hodgson M. A. mit der wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung der Bestände begonnen.

gefördert durch: