Library

Opening hours: Tues., Thurs., Fri. 9­am–1pm, and by appointment

Beside the extensive collection of sources, the Brahms-Institut also has its own special library, open to scholars, students, and all those who would like to work on the life and work of Johannes Brahms and his cultural-historical surroundings.

Around 2800 books (biographies, work analyses, exhibition catalogues) and auction catalogues, 20 journals, 2500 first or early editions, 1500 records and 250 CDs provide a comprehensive image of Brahms as a person, illuminating the works of the Hamburg-born Vienna resident and his composing friends and contemporaries.

The goal of the research library is to collect historical and current literature on Brahms, his compositions, and the other emphases of the collection (Robert and Clara Schumann, Theodor Kirchner, Joseph Joachim, Julius Spengel, Richard Heuberger) as comprehensively as possible. The user can access our catalogues, which record all books, music editions, and recordings, via PC. This is not a lending library: but with the permission of the librarian, copies can be ordered.

Bibliothek

Öffnungszeiten: Di, Mi, Do: 9–13 Uhr und nach Absprache.

Neben der umfangreichen Quellensammlung besitzt das Brahms-Institut auch eine eigene Spezialbibliothek. Sie steht offen für Wissenschaftler, Studierende und interessierte Laien, die sich mit Leben und Werk von Johannes Brahms sowie seinem kulturhistorischen Umfeld beschäftigen möchten.

Rund 2800 Bücher (Biographien, Werkanalysen, Ausstellungskataloge usw.) und Auktionskataloge, 20 Zeitschriften, 2500 Musikalienerst- und frühdrucke, 1500 Schallplatten und 250 CDs vermitteln in Wort, Noten und Ton ein umfassendes Bild vom Menschen Brahms, von den Werken des in Hamburg geborenen Wahlwieners sowie seinen komponierenden Freunden und Zeitgenossen.

Ziel der Forschungsbibliothek ist, die historische wie aktuell erscheinende Literatur zu Brahms, seinen Kompositionen und den übrigen Schwerpunkten der Sammlung (Robert und Clara Schumann, Theodor Kirchner, Joseph Joachim, Julius Spengel, Richard Heuberger) in größtmöglicher Vollständigkeit anzuschaffen. Der Benutzer hat die Möglichkeit, über PC auf unsere Kataloge zuzugreifen, die nach und nach alle Bücher, Noten und Tonträger verzeichnen.

Da es sich um eine Präsenzbibliothek handelt, werden keine Medien ausgelie­hen. Nach Rücksprache mit dem Bibliothekar können jedoch Kopien in Auftrag gegeben werden.